Life – Using Words to Start Over

For only the last ten years or so have I written —  

before that, I felt that my words and phrases were captured behind an impenetrable curtain. I always knew that there was a lifetime as a writer, but that ability was trapped and I would just ramble flowery and forced phrases in school. That block was strengthened in my years growing up by parents who met a mouthy comment with a stern,  “Don’t dispute my word!” It became fruitless to have an opinion in that framework. Then with my husband, communication was a very sticky issue as he never wanted to deal with emotions or philosophy (the weather was a safe topic).

When my world suddenly fell apart, and my life and my self were gone, I took a ‘why-not-I-don’t-know-what-else-to-do’ Australian pilgrimage in 2003. As I walked with Aboriginal guides through the rainforest and swam in the Great Barrier Reef, then new thoughts (ME thoughts) … began to flow. I did lots of listening and suspended judgement of what came.  I was really amazed when I first began to listen and interpret that silence into poetic form as a tool for understanding myself and life.  As I felt the feelings and chased them around in my head, then nailed them down, the new word-thoughts became elixir for my confusion. 

I always get more vision for and about myself and my journey now when I dive into the quiet place between my thoughts and awareness to write. What was survival became my healing, and ultimately my passion — thanks words!

Leave a Reply

Nutsrok

The humor and humanity of storytelling.

Dr Akilah - Celestial Healing Wellness Center

The Natural Health and Holistic World According to Dr Akilah

WordVerseUniverse

Poetry for Learning and Life

Steven D. Jennings

The nations leading blogger from behind bars! Steven shares his journey towards rehabilitation & redemption. He also exposes the realities of prison life...the good, the bad, and the ugly.

Staces Place

Just keeping an eye on things

Malcolm's Corner

Wealth related issues in the broadest sense of the word.

Anchors and Butterflies

Letting Go - Life by Choice

